Chemical Measurements

​Metrology in chemistry is gaining an increasing international importance in the fields of food safety, environmental quality, climate change and public health. Chemical measurements represent more than 60% of the volume of daily measurements carried out in the world and certified reference materials (CRMs) are the backbone of the confidence in measurement results. This is because they are the tool for linking the results to the International System (SI). The Department of Chemical Measurements at NMCC is concerned with the preparation and certification of organic, gaseous and electrochemical reference materials in accordance with the relevant international standards and supply them to the Saudi and Gulf markets. 

​​The Gas Measurement Laboratory is concerned with the production of certified reference materials (CRMs) from Natural Gas (NG), CO and CO2 gases in accordance with the relevant international ISO standards. The results of measuring their concentrations are assigned to the units of the International System (SI). These standard gases are provided to the market in gas cylinders filled with a mixture of the gas in nitrogen at different concentrations accompanied with a certificate. These certified reference materials are used in the calibration of monitors measuring harmful gases from vehicle exhaust, and Gas Chromatography machines used in the analysis of CO, CO2 and natural gases. The laboratory also determines the concentration of CO, CO2 and natural gas in filled in cylinders. The laboratory has the following measurement capabilities:

Calibration and Measurement Capabilities:

Calibration and Measurement Capability (CMC)، k=2​RangeQuantity measured / Calibrated Instrument
±4.7000E-06/8.1000E-05
1.548E-03 – 4.901E-02
Ethane
±1.5000E-06/1.0000E-04
6.309E-04 – 2.988E-02
Propane
±3.4000E-06/2.4000E-05
4.779E-04 – 1.000E-02
iso-butane
±2.3000E-06/2.4000E-05
4.893E-04 – 1.003E-02
n-butane
±6.0000E-07/3.9000E-05
1.004E-04 – 9.971E-03
Neopentane
±3.3000E-07/1.3000E-05
9.598E-05 – 5.039E-03
Isopentane
±3.8000E-07/1.2000E-05
9.818E-05 – 5.054E-03
n-pentane
±4.2000E-07/1.5000E-05
9.273E-05 – 4.823E-03
n-hexane
±1.6000E-04/6.7000E-05
6.420E-03 – 2.497E-01
Nitrogen
±3.5000E-06/8.1000E-05
1.909E-03 – 1.005E-01
Helium
±2.2000E-05/6.4000E-04
4.721E-03 – 9.922E-02
Hydrogen
±9.5000E-04/2.2800E-03
4.489E-01 – 9.893E-01
Methane
±1.99400E-07/1.99700E-04
9.970E-05 – 9.987E-02
Carbon dioxide
±2.00E-08/2.00E-05
9.99E-06 – 1.00E-02
Carbon monoxide

The organic measurements laboratory works in a wide range of reference materials to serve the fields of food safety and environmental protection. It is concerned with the preparation and certification of reference materials such as pesticides, food preservatives, antibiotics, edible oils and aromatic hydrocarbons polluting the environment.  The laboratory uses modern measurement methods to certify reference materials in accordance with the requirements of ISO 17034. The produced CRMs are provided to the local and Gulf market accompanied by certificate.​

Calibration and Measurement Capabilities:


Calibration and Measurement Capability (CMC)، k=2​RangeQuantity measured / Calibrated Instrument

2.3 %±

0.1 – 8000 mg/kg

Ethanol in aqueous matrix

± 2.1%

0.1 120 m​g/kg

Sodium benzoate in Ketchup 

±21.25%

±15.82%

50-1000 µg/kg

50-1000 µg/kg

Pesticides in tomato Beta-Endosulfan
 Endosulfan Sulfate ​​​

The laboratory is concerned with the preparation and certification of primary buffer solutions in accordance with the IUPAC Recommendation 2002. The certified Buffers are provided to water-analysis laboratories, drinking-water companies, food and beverage companies, and drug companies to help them ensuring the validity of water used. Buffers are also provided to factories in all industries for measuring the acidity and alkalinity of water entering and leaving the industrial processes. The laboratory is equipped with the primary system for measuring the pH and with the primary Coulometry system for measuring concentration of acids and bases. The laboratory has the following measurement capabilities:

Calibration and Measurement Capabilities:

Calibration and Measurement Capability (CMC)، k=2​RangeQuantity measured / Calibrated Instrument
±0.072

​at pH  4، 7 and10

Calibration of pH-meter
±0.0054
4

Production of Buffer solutions (CRMs)​
±0.0054
7
±0.0054
10


Last modified 12 Feb 2021
Rate content
Rating count: 1

القياسات الكيميائية

​​تكتسب المترولوجيا في الكيمياء أهمية دولية متصاعدة في مجالات سلامة الغذاء وجودة البيئة وتغير المناخ والصحة العامة، وتمثل القياسات الكيميائية أكثر من 60% من حجم القياسات التي تجرى يومياً في العالم، وتعتبر المواد المرجعية المجازة (CRMs) العمود الفقري لصحة القياسات ومن خلالها تسند نتائج القياس إلى وحدات النظام الدولي (SI)، وتعنى إدارة القياسات الكيميائية بتحضير وتوصيف المواد المرجعية العضوية والغازية والكهربية طبقاً للمواصفات الدولية ذات الصلة وإمداد الأسواق المحلية والخليجية بها.

​​

​​يهتم مختبر قياسات الغاز بإنتاج المواد المرجعية من  غازات أول وثاني أكسيد الكربون والغاز الطبيعي وفقاً لمواصفات الأيزو الدولية ذات الصلة وتسند نتائج قياس تركيزاتها إلى وحدات النظام الدولي (SI) ويتم توفيرها للسوق على شكل أسطوانات معبأة بمخلوط من الغاز مع النيتروجين بتركيزات مختلفة ومرفق لها شهادة و تستخدم هذه المواد المرجعية في معايرة أجهزة رصد ملوثات البيئة بالغازات الضارة وأجهزة قياس عوادم السيارات ومعايرة أجهزة كروماتوجرافي الغاز المستخدمة في تحليل غازات (CO)، (CO2) والغاز الطبيعي، كما أن المختبر يقوم بتحليل أسطوانات غازات أول وثاني أكسيد الكربون والغاز الطبيعي، وتحديد تراكيزها. والمختبر له قدرات القياس الآتية:

قدرات القياس والمعايرة:

Calibration and Measurement Capability (CMC)، k=2​RangeQuantity measured / Calibrated Instrument
4.7000E-06/8.1000E-05
1.548E-03 – 4.901E-02
Ethane
1.5000E-06/1.0000E-04
6.309E-04 – 2.988E-02
Propane
3.4000E-06/2.4000E-05
4.779E-04 – 1.000E-02
iso-butane
2.3000E-06/2.4000E-05
4.893E-04 – 1.003E-02
n-butane
6.0000E-07/3.9000E-05
1.004E-04 – 9.971E-03
Neopentane
3.3000E-07/1.3000E-05
9.598E-05 – 5.039E-03
Isopentane
3.8000E-07/1.2000E-05
9.818E-05 – 5.054E-03
n-pentane
4.2000E-07/1.5000E-05
9.273E-05 – 4.823E-03
n-hexane
1.6000E-04/6.7000E-05
6.420E-03 – 2.497E-01
Nitrogen
3.5000E-06/8.1000E-05
1.909E-03 – 1.005E-01
Helium
2.2000E-05/6.4000E-04
4.721E-03 – 9.922E-02
Hydrogen
9.5000E-04/2.2800E-03
4.489E-01 – 9.893E-01
Methane
1.99400E-07/1.99700E-04​
9.970E-05 – 9.987E-02
Carbon dioxide
2.00E-08/2.00E-05
9.99E-06 – 1.00E-02
Carbon monoxide

يعمل مختبر القياسات العضوية في نطاق واسع من المواد المرجعية لخدمة مجالات سلامة الغذاء وحماية البيئة فهو يهتم بتحضير المواد المرجعية من المبيدات والمواد الحافظة والمضادات الحيوية وزيوت الطعام ومركبات الهيدروكربونات الأروماتية الملوثة للبيئة ويستخدم طرق قياس حديثة لإجازة المواد المرجعية بشهادة طبقاً للبروتوكولات الدولية لتحقيق متطلبات مواصفة الأيزو (ISO 17034)، وتنتج هذه المواد المرجعية مصحوبة بشهادة للسوق المحلية والخليجية.

قدرات القياس والمعايرة:

Calibration and Measurement Capability (CMC)، k=2​RangeQuantity measured / Calibrated Instrument

2.3 %±

0.10 mg/g – 8000 mg/g

Ethanol in aqueous matrix

± 2.1%

 

0.005 mg/g – 0.1 mg/g


Sodium benzoate in aqueous matrix

Not covered by CMC

Beta-Endosulfan: 21.25%

Endosulfan Sulfate 15.82%

Beta-Endosulfan:

50-1000 µg/kg

Endosulfan Sulfate :

50-1000 µg/kg



Pestside in tomato
Not available
The matrices and analyte will be added year by year and  each produced CRM will be added the list as an individual line to scope

CRM Production

يعنى المختبر بتحضير محاليل البفر المرجعية الأولية وقياس الرقم الهيدروجيني لها (pH) بطريقة مرجعية أولية دولية وإجازتها بشهادة وتوفيرها لمختبرات تحاليل المياه في شركات مياه الشرب وشركات الأغذية والمشروبات والأدوية للتأكد من صلاحية المياه، وفي المصانع لقياس حامضية وقلوية المياه الداخلة والخارجة في العمليات الصناعية، ويحوز المختبر نظام القياس المرجعي لقياس الرقم الهيدروجيني (pH) لمحاليل البفر ونظام القياس الأولي لقياس تركيز الأحماض والأملاح بالكولومترى والمختبر له قدرات القياس الآتية:

قدرات القياس والمعايرة:

Calibration and Measurement Capability (CMC)، k=2​RangeQuantity measured / Calibrated Instrument
±0.014

​at pH  4، 7 and10

Calibration of pH-meter
±0.0054
4

​pH of Buffer solutions​
±0.0054
7
±0.0054
10



اخر تعديل 06 مايو 2020
قيم المحتوى
عدد المقيمين: 11