Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Sign In

 Used Vehicles Campaign

 
Saudi Standard for Energy Efficiency of Used Cars

      On January 1st, 2016, Saudi Technical Regulation No. (SASO 2864: 2015) for fuel economy standard of light-duty vehicles incoming to Saudi Arabia entered mandatory implementation for used vehicles. Entities concerned with the implementation of the standard (i.e. Saudi Standards, Metrology and Quality Organization (SASO); Saudi Energy Efficiency Center (SEEC); Ministry of Trade and Industry; and Saudi Customs) stressed the importance of checking the fuel economy standards of a used car before importation, so that it can be imported into the Kingdom. This can be done by visiting the website ( www.sls.gov.sa ), and making sure the used car meets standards before purchase.

     To facilitate the issue for people willing to import used cars, SASO devoted this page to review the most prominent queries followed by answers, so an importer gets his full right to know everything related to imported used vehicles.

* Most Common Questions:​ 

What is fuel economy standard? What is its importance?
     The transportation sector is the second largest energy consumer in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. Its consumption is expected to grow rapidly in the foreseeable future. Moreover, the number of incoming light-duty vehicles, during the next fifteen years, is expected to exceed current vehicles inventory on the road. For this reason, finding solutions for energy-efficiency consumption of this type of vehicles is very important for the Kingdom. Seeking to achieve this goal has imposed developing the fuel economy standard, which came into force on January 1st, 2016.
     This standard aims to improve energy efficiency of light-duty vehicles imported into the Kingdom, motivate manufacturers of vehicles to introduce the latest technologies of energy efficiency to the Kingdom, and reduce importing vehicles equipped with old technologies that are not compatible with the Saudi market's needs. The standard does not prevent any model of new vehicles, i.e. the standard will not affect the options available to the consumer. As regards used vehicles, the standard requires a minimum fuel economy limits for each category of vehicles as follows:

• Passenger cars (10.3 Km/ L)
• Light trucks (9.0 Km/ L)
 

What are the kingdom's efforts in adopting the fuel economy standard and why we need it?
    The Saudi energy efficiency program, in the Saudi Energy Efficiency Center has worked in cooperation with all concerned bodies in the Kingdom, to identify the reasons behind having low levels of energy efficiency in the road transport sector. The result was that the decline in vehicle fuel economy rate is the main reason for having low levels of energy efficiency in this sector. Vehicle fuel economy rate in the Kingdom is about (12) twelve Km/ L of fuel, compared to about (13) thirteen Km/ L of fuel in the United States, (15) fifteen Km/ L of fuel in China and (18) eighteen Km/ L of fuel in Europe.

    The specialist team in the program, consisting of the Ministry of Petroleum and Mineral Resources, Ministry of commerce and trade, Ministry of transport, SASO, Saudi Customs, General Department of Traffic, Saudi Center for Energy Efficiency, and Saudi Aramco, have started working two years ago with government an and non-government advisory bodies at local, regional and international levels on the Saudi standard for fuel economy . The nature of the supply and demand for vehicles in the Kingdom has been taken into account when the team started working on the standard in November 2013.  The team has also made continuous communication with global automakers by sending reports on the fuel economy of their vehicles. They also took their comments and suggestions regarding achieving continuous improvement on the level of the standard,  while maintaining technical neutrality and fair competition, in addition to offering a variety of vehicles to the consumers .

    The preparation process of the standard resulted in the approval and commitment of more than (80) companies, representing  the industry source of (99%) of vehicle sales in the Kingdom, to apply the Saudi standard for fuel economy in light vehicle, which will result in achieving  high savings of consumed energy.
 

What are the efforts of the bodies participating in approving the standard and their roles in the application mechanism?
    The Fuel Economy Standard has been developed based on joint efforts between all bodies concerned with the road transport sector. These bodies are all represented by the Saudi Energy Efficiency Program's road transport team, they are; Ministry of Commerce and Industry, Ministry of Petroleum and Mineral Resources, Ministry of Transport, SASO, General Directorate of Traffic, Saudi Custom, Saudi Energy Efficiency Center  and Saudi Aramco. Accordingly, SASO has issued this technical regulation. The application process will be completed in cooperation with all concerned government authorities, which are; Ministry of Commerce and Industry, SASO, Saudi Custom and Saudi Energy Efficiency Center.

    Currently, we are working on developing an electronic program for fuel economy, in cooperation with government authorities concerned with the application process. The aim of the program is to calculate the average fuel economy of every vehicle manufacturing company. In addition, the program will be electronically linked to the Saudi Custom's vehicle database, through which we will be able to know the actual fuel economy rate for each manufacturing company. 

 
How can you identify the fuel economy of the vehicle you wish to import from abroad and to what extent it conforms with the requirements of energy efficiency?
    SEEC in cooperation with SASO has developed a database available online, which enables anyone to verify the vehicle's fuel economy (from model year 2010 et seq.) and to check its conformity with the requirements of energy efficiency; meaning the vehicle has to exceed  the minimum levels set by the standard for each of the following classes:
Passenger Cars (10.3 Km/ L)
Light Trucks  (9.0 Km/ L)

You can view the vehicles' database through this link: (www.sls.gov.sa ).


Are there any new requirements for the importation of used vehicles to the Kingdom?
  Yes, the importer should provide a certificate from SASO to prove that the imported vehicle conforms with the fuel economy standard. Those wishing to import a vehicle can get the certificate issued through visiting this link: (www.sls.gov.sa).

    However, this does not eliminate any of the other requirements set for importing used vehicles to the Kingdom. For example; the vehicle must not be older than five years, damaged, or used as a taxicab, in addition to many other requirements. For further details check the Saudi custom. You can also check the vehicle database through this link; (www.sls.gov.sa). 
 
 
Owners of automotive showrooms and importers of used cars discuss that SASO has prohibited the entry of vehicles with 450 horsepower engines and more into the Kingdom. When will this be applied?
    Fuel economy standard does not specify certain specifications for vehicles and does not indicate an upper limit for the allowed cylinders number, engine displacement, or engine power. Instead, minimum limits of fuel economy for passenger cars and light trucks, individually, have been specified, regardless of the actual specifications of the vehicles.
 

How many vehicles were entered into the Kingdom in 2015, whether new or used?
    ​Vehicles that entered the Kingdom in 2015 reached about 1,060,000, including light-duty and heavy-duty vehicles.
 

Does the decision apply to showrooms only or to individual importers of vehicles?
    ​The decision applies to everyone, whether the vehicle is for personal or commercial use.


If my vehicle is new, am I requested to consider its conformity with the requirements of energy efficiency for vehicles?
     New vehicles should meet the requirements of energy efficiency for new vehicles according to the concept of Corporate Average Fuel Economy. The standard applies to the automotive manufacturer, not to commercial or individual importer. As any vehicles can be imported, and the automotive manufacturers will be held accountable based on their total sales for the year.


I want to import a 2016 model year vehicle with an engine displacement of 3.8 Liter, taking into consideration that the declared fuel economy according to the Fuel Economy Label is 8.5 km/liter. Does the decision apply to new or used vehicles?
     The vehicle you have indicated is considered new; therefore, the Corporate Average Fuel Economy (CAFE) applies to it. The minimum limit of fuel economy for used vehicles does not apply to it.


How true is this information: I can import a 2012 model year vehicle which has traveled for a distance of more than 1000 km?
     Yes, you can. However, the vehicle should conform to the requirements of energy efficiency for used vehicles, which can be found at the following link: www.sls.gov.sa

8/1/2016 8:31 AM

تخطي أوامر الشريط
التخطي إلى المحتوى الأساسي
تسجيل الدخول
الثلاثاء, 03 شوال 1438 - 27 يونيو 2017     الساعة:

 حملة السيارات المستعملة

 

 
 المعيار السعودي لكفاءة الطاقة للسيارات المستعملة
 
في الأول من يناير لعام 2016م دخلت اللائحة الفنية السعودية رقم (SASO 2864:2015) لمعيار اقتصاد الوقود للمركبات الخفيفة المضافة إلى المملكة العربية السعودية ابتداءً من 1 يناير 2016م مرحلة التطبيق الإلزامي على السيارات المستعملة، وأكدت الجهات المعنيّة بتطبيق الائحة (الهيئة السعودية للمواصفات والمقاييس والجودة - المركز السعودي لكفاءة الطاقة - وزارة التجارة والصناعة - مصلحة الجمارك العامة) على أهمية التأكد من معايير اقتصاد الوقود للسيارة المستعملة قبل استيرادها، حتى يتمكن المستورد من إدخالها إلى المملكة، وذلك عبر زيارة الموقع (www.sls.gov.sa) والتأكد من استيفائها للمعايير قبل الشروع في الشراء.
 
وتسهيلاً على الراغبين في استيراد السيارات المستعملة من الخارج، خصصت هيئة المواصفات هذه الزاوية لاستعراض أبرز الاستفسارات والإجابات عليها، حتى يحصل المستورد على حقه الكامل في المعرفة في كل ما يتصل بالسيارات المستعملة المستوردة.

* الأسئلة الأكثر شيوعاً:
ما هو معيار اقتصاد الوقود وماهي أهميته؟ 
شكل قطاع النقل ثاني أكبر مستهلك للطاقة في المملكة العربية السعودية، ومن المتوقع أن ينمو استهلاكه بدرجة عالية في المستقبل المنظور. علاوة على ذلك، من المتوقع أن يتجاوز عدد المركبات الخفيفة المضافة خلال السنوات الخمس عشرة القادمة المخزون الحالي من المركبات الموجودة على الطريق. ولهذا السبب، تغدو معالجة كفاءة استهلاك الطاقة لهذه الفئة من المركبات مهمة للغاية بالنسبة للمملكة. وهذا ما فرض وضع معيار اقتصاد الوقود لتحقيق هذا الهدف والذي بدأ العمل به في من 1 يناير 2016م، ويهدف المعيار إلى تحسين كفاءة الطاقة في المركبات الخفيفة الواردة إلى المملكة وتحفيز الشركات المصنّعة للمركبات على إدخال أحدث تكنولوجيات كفاءة الطاقة إلى المملكة العربية السعودية، وتخفيض استيراد المركبات المجهزة بتكنولوجيات قديمة لا تتوافق مع حاجات السوق السعودي، كما أن المعيار لا يقتضي منع أي نوع من طرازات المركبات الجديدة، أي أن المعيار لن يؤثر على الخيارات المتاحة للمستهلك. أما ما يخص المركبات المستعملة فإن المعيار يفرض حدود دنيا لاقتصاد الوقود لكل فئة من فئات المركبات على النحو التالي:  
  • سيارات الركوب (10.3 كيلومتر لكل لتر)
  • الشاحنات الخفيفة (9.0 كيلومتر لكل لتر)

ما هي جهود المملكة في اعتماد معيار اقتصاد الوقود ولماذا احتجنا إليه؟ 
 
لقد قام البرنامج السعودي لكفاءة الطاقة، المنبثق من المركز السعودي لكفاءة الطاقة، بالتعاون مع كافة الجهات المعنية في المملكة بتحديد أسباب تدني مستوى كفاءة استهلاك الطاقة في قطاع النقل البري، وتوصّل إلى أنّ تدني معدل اقتصاد وقود المركبات هو السبب الرئيس لتدني مستوى كفاءة الاستهلاك في هذا القطاع. حيث يقارب معدل اقتصاد وقود المركبات في المملكة نحو (12) أثني عشر كيلو متراً لكل لتر وقود، مقارنةً بنحو (13) ثلاثة عشر كيلو متراً لكل لتر وقود في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، و (15) خمسة عشر كيلو متراً لكل لتر وقود في الصين، و(18) ثمانية عشر كيلو متراً لكل لتر وقود في أوروبا. 

وقد قام الفريق المختص في البرنامج، المكوّن من وزارات البترول والثروة المعدنية، والتجارة والصناعة، والنقل، والهيئة السعودية للمواصفات والمقاييس والجودة، ومصلحة الجمارك العامة، والإدارة العامة للمرور، والمركز السعودي لكفاءة الطاقة، وشركة أرامكو السعودية، بالعمل منذ عامين مع جهات استشارية حكومية وغير حكومية، وعلى كافة الأصعدة المحلية والإقليمية والدولية على إعداد المعيار السعودي لاقتصاد الوقود، وقد روعي عند بدء العمل على إعداد المعيار في نوفمبر 2013م طبيعة العرض والطلب على المركبات في المملكة، والتواصل المستمر مع شركات صناعة السيارات العالمية عبر تقديم تقارير اقتصاد وقود مركباتهم، والأخذ بملاحظاتهم واقتراحاتهم، بشأن تحقق التحسين المستمر في مستوى المعيار، مع المحافظة على الحياد التقني، والمنافسة العادلة، وتنوّع خيارات المركبات المتاحة للمستهلكين. 
 
وأسفرت عملية إعداد المعيار عن موافقة والتزام ما يزيد عن (80) شركة تمثّل مصدر صناعة أكثر من (99%) من مبيعات المركبات في المملكة بتطبيق المعيار السعودي لاقتصاد الوقود في المركبات الخفيفة، مما سينتج عنه تحقيق وفر عالي في الطاقة المستهلكة.
 
ما هي جهود الجهات المشاركة في اعتماد المعيار وأدوارها في آلية التطبيق؟ 
تم تطوير معيار اقتصاد الوقود بناءً على جهد مشترك بين جميع الجهات المعنية بقطاع النقل البري والتي تم تمثيلها جميعا في فريق النقل البري بالبرنامج السعودي لكفاءة الطاقة، وهي: وزارة التجارة والصناعة، وزارة البترول والثروة المعدنية، وزارة النقل، الهيئة السعودية للمواصفات والمقاييس والجودة، الإدارة العامة للمرور، مصلحة الجمارك العامة، المركز السعودي لكفاءة الطاقة، شركة أرامكو السعودية. وبناءً على ذلك قامت الهيئة بإصدار تلك اللائحة الفنية، وسيتم التطبيق بالتعاون مع جميع الجهات الحكومية المعنية وهي: وزارة التجارة والصناعة، الهيئة السعودية للمواصفات والمقاييس والجودة، مصلحة الجمارك العامة، المركز السعودي لكفاءة الطاقة. 

كذلك جاري العمل على تطوير برنامج إلكتروني لاقتصاد الوقود بالتعاون مع الجهات الحكومية المعنية بالتطبيق يتم من خلاله احتساب متوسط اقتصاد الوقود لكل شركة صانعة للمركبات، بالإضافة إلى الربط الإلكتروني مع قاعدة بيانات مصلحة الجمارك العامة الخاصة بالمركبات والتي من خلالها يمكن معرفة معدل اقتصاد الوقود الفعلي لكل شركة صانعة.

كيف يتم التعرف على اقتصاد وقود المركبة المرغوب استيرادها من الخارج ومدى مطابقتها لمتطلبات كفاءة الطاقة؟ 
 
قام المركز السعودي لكفاءة الطاقة بالتعاون مع الهيئة السعودية للمواصفات والمقاييس والجودة باستحداث قاعدة بيانات متاحة على الإنترنت تمكن أي شخص من التحقق من اقتصاد وقود المركبة (من سنة موديل 2010 وما يليها) ومعرفة مدى مطابقتها لمتطلبات كفاءة الطاقة، أي أنها تتخطى الحدود الدنيا التي سنها المعيار لكل فئة من فئات المركبات وهي على النحو التالي: 
  • سيارات الركوب (10.3 كيلومتر لكل لتر)
  • الشاحنات الخفيفة (9.0 كيلومتر لكل لتر)
 
ويمكن الاطلاع على قاعدة بيانات المركبات من خلال الرابط: (www.sls.gov.sa).
هل يوجد متطلبات جديدة لاستيراد المركبة المستعلمة إلى المملكة؟ 
 
نعم، إذ ينبغي على مستورد السيارة المستعملة توفير شهادة من هيئة المواصفات والمقاييس تبين مطابقة المركبة المستوردة لمتطلبات معيار اقتصاد الوقود. حيث يمكن للراغبين باستيراد المركبات إصدار الشهادة من خلال زيارة الرابط: (www.sls.gov.sa).
 
حيث أن ذلك لا يلغي أي من المتطلبات الأخرى لاستيراد المركبات المستعملة إلى المملكة، مثل ألا تكون أقدم من خمس (5) سنوات، أو تالفة، أو تم استخدامها كسيارة أجرة وغيرها من المطالب التي يمكن الحصول على تفاصيلها من مصلحة الجمارك. ويمكن الاطلاع على قاعدة بيانات المركبات من خلال الرابط: (www.sls.gov.sa).
 
إذا أصحاب المعارض وموردين السيارات المستعملة يتداولون أن الهيئة منعت دخول السيارات ذات المحركات 450 حصان وأكثر من دخول المملكة؟ متى سوف يتم التطبيق؟

معيار اقتصاد الوقود لم يخص أي مواصفات معينة في السيارات ولم يحدد حد أقصى لعدد السلندرات أو حجم المحرك أو قوة المحرك المسموح بها. وانما تم تحديد حدود دنيا لاقتصاد الوقود لسيارات الركوب والشاحنات الخفيفة كلٌ على حدة بصرف النظر عن مواصفات السيارة نفسها.

كم عدد السيارات التي دخلت المملكة خلال العام 2015 سواء جديدة أو مستعملة؟

عدد السيارات التي دخلت المملكة خلال عام 2015 حوالي 1,060,000 شاملة السيارات الخفيفة وسيارات النقل الثقيل.

إذا أردت استيراد سيارة مستعملة وتم التأكد من خلال الموقع بأنها مطابقة هل يجب أن لا يتجاوز العداد 1000كم؟
 
 
السيارة الجديدة يجب أن تكون موديل السنة الحالية أو السابقة بشرط عدم تجاوز المسافة المقطوعة 1000كم ما عدا ذلك تعتبر سيارة متستعملة ويطبق عليها معيار اقتصاد الوقود للسيارات المستعملة.


هل القرار ينطبق على المعارض فقط، أم على مستوى الأفراد مستوردي السيارات؟

القرار يطبق على الجميع سواءً كان استخدام شخصي أو تجاري.

 

إذا كانت سيارتي جديدة فهل أنا مطالب بمطابقة متطلبات كفاءة الطاقة للسيارات؟
 
السيارات الجديدة مطالبة بتخطي متطلبات كفاءة الطاقة للسيارات الجديدة حسب مفهوم متوسط اقتصاد الوقود للشركات، ويتم تطبيق المعيار على الشركة الصانعة وليس على المستورد التاجر أو الفرد. حيث يمكن استيراد أي سيارة وسيتم محاسبة الشركات الصانعة عليها بناءا على المبيعات الكلية خلال السنة.


أرغب باستيراد سيارة جديدة موديل 2016 سعة المحرك (3.8) لتر جديدة علماً بأن بطاقة اقتصاد الوقود توضح أنها (8.5) كلم/لتر، هل القرار مطبق على الجديد أم المستعمل؟

السيارة التي أشرت لها تعد جديدة ويطبق عليها متوسط اقتصاد الوقود للشركات، ولا يطبق عليها الحد الأدنى لاقتصاد الوقود للسيارات المستعملة.

ما صحة هذا، هل أستطيع استيراد سيارة موديل 2012 ماشيه أكثر من 1000 كم؟
نعم تستطيع، ولكن لا بد أن تكون مطابقه لمتطلبات كفاءة الطاقة للسيارات المستعملة من خلال زيارة الرابط (www.sls.gov.sa).
 

08/05/1437 07:31 م